Meaning of Houses in Vedic Astrology

Following is the picture of Vedic chart of a human being.

There are 12 houses and these houses are always fixed and are shown below:

Concerning the body, the significations of each house generally correspond to the significations of the equivalent sign of the zodiac i. e. whenever we want to examine the condition of any part of the body, the concerned house and the same number of sign should both be examined. Afflictions to houses likewise cause diseases of the connected parts. The houses from the lagna to seventh represent the right half of the body of the native (and the left half of the body of his spouse). Those from the seventh to the lagna represent his left half and the right half of his spouse.

The houses can also be divided into four trinities:

Trinityof Dharma or Spiritual Action
Houses 1, 5 and 9
They relate to the Fire signs of Aries, Leo and Sagittarius (1) Body (5) Heart and (9) Higher Mind

Trinity of Artha or Wealth
Houses 2, 6 and 10
They relate to Earth sign of Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn (2) Possessions, (6) Comforts, such as food, servants and health and (10) Honor, fame and social standing.

Trinity of Kama or Relationships
Houses 3, 7 and 11
They relate to Airy signs of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius (3) Siblings (7) Marriage and Partnerships (11) Friends and close associates

Trinity of Moksha or Final Liberation of Soul
Houses 4, 8 and 12
They relate to Water signs of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. (4) Environment at later part of life. (8) Regeneration and Death (12) Suffering and self-undoing.
The Birth Chart has 12 houses. Each of them represents different facets of human life. Here you will find a brief introduction to all 12 houses.

Astrology House

1st House

It represents body, his/her innate nature and state of health, vitality, longevity, happiness, personality, appearance, prosperity, general disposition in life, reputation and status, desires and their fulfillment fame, strength, character, courage, knowledge or lack of it, residence, place of birth, dignity, honour, ancestry, livelihood, the present wisdom, wealth, comforts and discomforts, self-respect, peace of mind, happiness and un-happiness, detachment, virtues and vices, health of parents.

Body Parts : Head(cranium and forehead), brain, limbs, hair, complexion, pituitary glands etc.